Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content
    Mississippi College School of Law
  Jul 19, 2024
School of Law 2012-2013 Academic Catalog 
School of Law 2012-2013 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Financial Information

Financial Aid

MC Law grants some scholarships based on merit. Students with financial need may apply for the federal Direct Loans, Graduate Plus Loans, and College Work Study. To be considered for federal aid, students must complete the FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID (FAFSA). This form may be obtained online from

Loans, Work Study, Scholarships

MC Law offers assistance through the federal Direct Loan Program, college work study, institutional scholarships and a limited number of credit based Graduate Plus loans. (Federal Pell Grants are reserved for undergraduate students only.) Loans are processed after the student completes and returns the FAFSA. Students must use Mississippi College School of Law code #E00479 on the FAFSA for the school to receive their information. A maximum of $20,500 per year will be awarded under the Federal Direct Loans programs. Further information regarding loans and college work study may be obtained by contacting the Financial Aid office at 601-925-7110.  For more detailed information regarding merit-based institutional scholarships, consult the section on Scholarships and Awards  in this catalog.

Satisfactory Progress to Maintain Financial Aid

Students on academic probation will be eligible to receive financial assistance for the first semester on academic probation, and for the second semester, provided substantial academic progress was made during the first semester of probation. Students will be ineligible to receive financial assistance during the first semester back in school following academic suspension, if the student is allowed to re-enroll.

Students who are denied financial assistance due to unsatisfactory academic progress have the right to appeal the denial. Students should place in writing the request to appeal to the Committee for Enrollment Appeals. (Contact the Financial Aid Coordinator, 601-925-7110)

Payment of Accounts

All accounts are due and payable at the time of registration. No credit for course work done will be awarded, nor transcripts provided, until all accounts are paid.

Payment Arrangements

Cash - If not using the monthly payment plan or a credit card, a check for the exact amount be written before registration.

Monthly Payment Plan - The law school offers a Monthly Payment Plan, a convenient method for planning and budgeting tuition and fees for the Fall or Spring semester. Under this plan, costs may be paid with up to five (5) monthly payments per semester. Participation in the plan is only allowed with direct debit to a bank account. Applications and more detailed information (including payment dates and deadlines for enrolling) may be obtained by contacting the Mississippi College Bursar’s Office. A nonrefundable fee of $20 per semester covers the costs of administration of the program and must accompany the application. Application must be made each semester for the plan.

Information regarding the Monthly Payment Plan may be obtained by any one of the following: Mississippi College website,, by contacting the Bursar’s Office at 601-925-3309 or 1-800-738-1287, or by e-mail at Students who pay by credit card incur additional fees charged by the third party provider. Please note that VISA is not accepted for credit card payments.

Payment by International Students

Before an international student may register, the student must have on deposit with the Bursar’s Office sufficient funds to cover expenses for an entire year and must provide an approved medical and repatriation insurance policy with Mississippi College as the trustee beneficiary.


As availability permits, some residence hall rooms on the Mississippi College campus in Clinton may be open to law students. For dormitory information, please call Residence Life at (601) 925-3359.


Tuition and Fees for Law School for AY 2012-13

Fee Type Amount for AY 12-13
Tuition (per hour), J.D. Program  
a. 3L Students $890 (fixed for remainder of school)
b. 2L Students $926 (fixed for remainder of school)
c. 1L Students $965 (fixed for remainder of school)
Registration Fee (fixed)  
5 hours or less $75
6-11 hours $120
12 hours or more $185
Campus Dining Fee (per semester) $100
Activity Fee $165 (includes a directory, free transcripts, calendar book, and ABA fee)
Application Fee (non-refundable) $0 to $50 (depending on the type of application)
Automation Fee (per semester) $150
Duplicate ID Card Fee $5
Graduation Fee (includes a complimentary photo) $115 (only charged in the year of graduation)
Replacement Diploma Fee $70
Replacement Clicker Fee $30
Late Registration Fee $30
Parking Fee (per semester) $150
Removal of Incomplete Grade Fee $25
Returned Check Fee $30
Transcript Fee No charge for current students or Annual Fund donors, $10 for graduates
Transfer Application Fee
(per school to which a packet is sent)
Applicant Visit Fee To Be Determinied
Visits away to another Law School Pay tuition and fees to MC Law at the MC Law rate, who in turn will pay the host lawschool—if tuition/fees at host school are more expensive, the extra amount to cover the difference would also be paid to MC Law
Acceptance Deposits
(applied to account upon enrollment)
$250 by April 1, 2013
$250 by June 1, 2013
Adjustments permitted based on date of acceptance, scholarship status, and application status.

Refund Policy

The charges and fees to attend MC Law and the refund policies have been approved by the Board of Trustees and are designed to be as fair as possible to both the University and the student.

Refund on Withdrawal from Mississippi College School of Law

A student desiring to withdraw from university should go to Room 105, Director of Law School Records, and process a withdrawal form. It is necessary for the correct procedure to be followed. Failure to process an official withdrawal earns a grade of F in each course. Deadlines for withdrawal are the same as those for dropping courses.

Any claims for refunds of tuition will be based on the date on which the student files a completed withdrawal form with the Director of Law School Records.

Refund on Tuition upon Withdrawal

Note: that in counting deadlines (for changes of schedule, refunds, etc.), the first week of the semester is the calendar week in which registration begins.

For withdrawal during Fall and Spring: Refund credit:
1st week 100%
2nd week 75%
3rd week 50%
4th week 25%
5th week 0%
For withdrawal during
10 week summer terms: Refund credit:
Registration day through 3rd day of 1st term 100%
4th and 5th days of 1st term 75%
6th and 7th days of 1st term 50%
8th and 9th days of 1st term 25%
10th day of 1st term 0%

Refund on Courses Dropped

For courses dropped during Fall and Spring: Refund credit:
1st week 100%
2nd week 0%
For courses dropped during
10 week summer terms: Refund credit:
Registration day through 3rd day of the term 100%
4th day of the term 0%

Refund on Residence Halls

Room charges will not be refunded should a student withdraw from school or cease to be a resident student.

Refund on Other Fees

Fees other than those outlined above are not refundable upon withdrawal.

Refunds/Return of Title IV Funds

When a student withdraws from classes, the student may be entitled to receive money back which had been paid to the University. The University may be able to refund all or a portion of the tuition, fees, etc., the student paid. If the tuition, fees, etc., were paid with Title IV financial aid, all or a portion of the student’s refund must be returned to the student aid programs from which the money was awarded. A student who receives a cash disbursement to assist with living expenses and then withdraws, may be required to return money to the aid programs from which the money was awarded.

Federal regulations require Mississippi College to have a fair and equitable refund policy. If a recipient of Title IV aid withdraws during a period of enrollment, Mississippi College must calculate the amount of Title IV aid the student did not earn. The percentage of aid earned is equal to the percentage of time not completed. Unearned Title IV funds must be returned to the Title IV programs.

If a student withdraws on or before the 60% point of enrollment, the percentage of aid earned is equal to the percentage of time completed. If a student remains enrolled beyond the 60% point of enrollment period, 100% of the aid has been earned for that period.

All unearned Title IV funds must be returned to the Title IV programs. If Title IV aid was used to pay institutional charges first, the University will return unearned Title IV funds up to an amount that is equal to the amount disbursed to the U.S. Department of Education.

Funds are returned in the following order up to the full amount disbursed:

  1. Federal Unsubsidized Direct Loan,
  2. Federal Subsidized Direct Loan,
  3. Federal Plus Loan,